Inside the Datacenter
State Guides

Every Data Center in Wisconsin: Operating, Under Construction, and Proposed

A running directory of every data center in Wisconsin as of September 2026: one operating hyperscale campus, three under construction, six live proposals, seven withdrawn or blocked, and about twenty colocation and enterprise sites from Kenosha to Eau Claire. Every row is sourced and the list is updated as projects move.

· 10 min read

The gilded dome of the Wisconsin State Capitol in Madison lit gold at dusk, with a fountain spraying in the foreground and downtown office buildings to the left
Photo: Mike Norris / Pexels

This page counts every data center Wisconsin has, is building, has been offered, or has turned away, as of September 4, 2026. The tally: one operating hyperscale campus, three projects under construction, six live proposals, seven that were withdrawn or blocked, and about twenty colocation and enterprise facilities from Kenosha to Eau Claire. Three campuses, in Mount Pleasant, Port Washington, and Beaver Dam, account for 72 percent of the peak demand growth state regulators expect by 2032.

The Capitol in Madison wrote the 2023 sales tax exemption that started all of this and then passed no data center bill in the session that followed, so the decisions have moved to town halls, county boards, and the Public Service Commission. For the story behind the rows below, the power plants, the nondisclosure agreements, and the towns that said no, read our county-by-county map of Wisconsin’s data center boom. This page is the ledger. Every row traces to a source listed at the end, and the list is updated as permits issue, referendums pass, and letters of intent expire.

At a glance

Status Projects Disclosed capacity
Operating hyperscale 1 Not disclosed
Under construction 3 1,122 MW
Proposed or pending 6 230 MW
Withdrawn or blocked 7 2,250 MW
Colocation and enterprise 22 About 110 MW

Capacity figures are the sum of megawatts that a developer, utility, or regulator has put on the record. Microsoft has never published a load figure for Mount Pleasant; Wisconsin Watch reports that Mount Pleasant and Port Washington together are expected to draw 3.9 gigawatts.

Operating hyperscale campuses

Wind Point Lighthouse stands on the Racine County shore of Lake Michigan a few miles east of Microsoft’s Mount Pleasant campus, the only hyperscale site in the state that is switched on. The land was assembled for Foxconn in 2017 and sat mostly empty until Microsoft bought in.

The white brick tower of Wind Point Lighthouse in Racine County, Wisconsin, with its red lantern room and black iron gallery against a clear blue sky

Photo: Jim / Pexels

Project Operator Location Size Status Latest
Fairwater Microsoft Mount Pleasant, Racine Co. 1,575 acres; $7.3B in two announced phases Operating Jun 2026, first building live; second due 2028; 15 more approved Jan 2026

Microsoft has put its total Mount Pleasant commitment at more than $20 billion. The first building was declared operational on June 23, 2026, and the company calls it the world’s most powerful AI data center. It signed a 15-year contract with We Energies on July 16 and in August protested to federal regulators over more than $500 million in transmission charges from American Transmission Co.

Under construction

Project Operator Location Size Status Latest
Lighthouse (Stargate) Vantage Data Centers for Oracle and OpenAI Port Washington, Ozaukee Co. 902 MW; four buildings; 672 acres; $15B Building Aug 7, 2026, PSC made ATC restart its transmission application
Beaver Dam campus Meta Beaver Dam, Dodge Co. 220 MW; 700,000 sq ft; $1B+ Building May 2026, PSC approved Alliant rates with conditions; online 2027
Beaver Dam edge site Oppidan Investment Co. Beaver Dam, Dodge Co. 90,000 sq ft; 13 acres; $41M guaranteed value Approved Apr 9, 2026, council vote 11 to 3; online 2028

Vantage’s Lighthouse campus is the largest project in state history. Steel is up on all four first-phase buildings, with first capacity targeted for late 2027, and the concept plan runs to 1,900 acres and 3.5 gigawatts. The grid is the constraint: the substations and new high-voltage line that ATC needs to serve it are back at the start of a six-month review. Meta’s Beaver Dam building draws 220 megawatts under a ten-year contract with Alliant Energy, and the smaller Oppidan facility next door was approved in April on city-owned land between Meta and the Generac plant.

Proposed and pending

Menomonie, seen here from above Lake Menomin on the Red Cedar River, is where Balloonist LLC paid $25.5 million for more than 300 acres of farmland before residents learned a data center was coming. The city is now writing a zoning district to govern it.

Aerial view of Menomonie, Wisconsin across Lake Menomin on the Red Cedar River, with the downtown buildings, a tall brick smokestack, and a church steeple rising behind the tree-lined shore

Photo: Chris Flaten / Pexels

Project Operator Location Size Status Latest
Kenosha campus Microsoft City of Kenosha, Kenosha Co. 240 acres; four buildings drawn Site plan review; no permits Aug 27, 2026, residents press for moratorium; NDA ended Jun 22
Former paper mill site PNK Group (PCH WI Holdings) Wisconsin Rapids, Wood Co. 209 acres; five buildings; 150 MW Conditional use permit pending Sep 16, 2026 plan commission hearing; city drafting a moratorium that exempts it
Red Cedar campus Balloonist LLC Menomonie, Dunn Co. 320 acres; $1.6B On hold pending zoning Apr 2026, mayor apologized for NDA; draft rules coming
Project Cornmaze Cambrin LLC, then Panattoni (reported Meta) Town of Beloit, Rock Co. 430 acres Pre-development agreement Jun 2026, town banned staff NDAs
Dane County Data Exchange 2 Dane County Data Exchange Madison, Dane Co. 60 MW Planned per dcmap.us No local reporting found; Madison moratorium in force
Wisconsin Rapids Digital Power Optimization Wisconsin Rapids, Wood Co. 20 MW Planned per dcmap.us No local reporting found

Microsoft’s Kenosha land, 240 acres bought for $34.8 million in January 2025, is the most likely next campus in the state, and the most contested. The PNK Group plan in Wisconsin Rapids would put five buildings on the north side of the former paper mill; the city’s planning commission voted August 10 to draft a twelve-month moratorium, which under state law cannot reach an application already filed. The last two rows come from a facility tracker rather than local news and are listed so readers can check them; neither has a public filing we could find.

Withdrawn, rejected, or paused

“You’re going to talk to me, you’re going to talk to all five town board members, and it’s going to be a public meeting.”

That was Town of Pacific chair Steven Pate’s answer to a Stonebridge executive proposing a $10 billion campus in Columbia County, as he told Wisconsin Watch. The developer never called back. Seven Wisconsin projects have ended that way or been stopped by votes, and together they represent more disclosed capacity than everything under construction.

Project Operator Location Size Outcome When
DeForest and Town of Vienna campus QTS Data Centers Dane Co. $12B; 1,600 acres Withdrawn; built in Iowa instead Jan 2026
Project Nova Microsoft Caledonia, Racine Co. 244 acres Withdrawn after 2,000-signature petition Oct 2025
GM/JATCO plant site Viridian Acquisitions Janesville, Rock Co. $8B; up to 800 MW Letter of intent allowed to expire Jun 2026; $450M project referendum Nov 3
Cassville campus Undisclosed developer Town of Cassville, Grant Co. $1B; 500 acres; 400 to 500 MW Blocked by two-year ban, vote 44 to 0 Apr 2026
Town of Pacific campus Stonebridge Columbia Co. $10B Abandoned after public-meeting demand Public in Aug 2026
Greenleaf site Cloverleaf Infrastructure Village of Greenleaf, Brown Co. Not disclosed Developer withdrew Jan 2026
Wrightstown campus Cloverleaf Infrastructure Wrightstown, Brown Co. Up to 1,000 MW Paused; one-year moratorium extended, nearly 9 in 10 voters opposed Jul and Aug 2026

Colocation and enterprise facilities

Downtown Milwaukee along the Milwaukee River is where the state’s commercial data center business is concentrated. Three colocation operators list the Wells Building at 324 East Wisconsin Avenue, a 1901 office tower a few blocks east of this stretch of the river, and its owner, 1547 Critical Systems Realty, markets it as the metro’s interconnection hub.

Downtown Milwaukee seen along the Milwaukee River, with a small red tour boat on the water, the ornate Milwaukee City Hall tower and office buildings behind, and a bridge crossing in the distance

Photo: Leroy Skalstad / Pexels

These are the working facilities that predate the hyperscale wave: enterprise rooms, carrier hotels, and regional colocation. Capacities are as listed by the operator or by the dcmap.us and Cloud and Colocation directories; most are single-digit megawatts.

Facility Operator Location Size Notes
Wells Building, 324 E. Wisconsin Ave. 1547 Critical Systems Realty; tenants include Red Anvil, TSR Solutions, i-Site Milwaukee Not disclosed State’s primary carrier hotel
3135 W. Highland Ave. Data Holdings Milwaukee 8.6 MW Purpose-built colocation
3701 W. Burnham St. TierPoint Milwaukee 3 MW Former Cosentry and Red Anvil site
7901 W. Clinton Ave. Aventus Data Centers Milwaukee Not disclosed Tier III; cabinets, cages, suites
10125 S. 52nd St. CyberLynk Network Franklin, Milwaukee Co. Not disclosed Milwaukee-area colocation; operator calls it MKE1
4777 Ironwood Dr. Expedient Franklin, Milwaukee Co. 1.6 MW; 27,000 sq ft 10,000 sq ft raised floor; also branded MKE1
N15W24250 Riverwood Dr. T5 Data Centers Waukesha Co. 16 MW Largest colocation site in the state
Hartland data center NTT Global Data Centers Hartland, Waukesha Co. 10 MW Enterprise colocation
Hartland Airiam Hartland, Waukesha Co. Not disclosed Managed services
13935 Bishops Dr. nGenX Brookfield, Waukesha Co. Not disclosed Regional colocation
Kenosha Tier III OFFSITE Kenosha, Kenosha Co. 5 MW Serves the Milwaukee-Chicago corridor
Prairie Highlands campus OFFSITE Pleasant Prairie, Kenosha Co. 12 acres; up to 35 MW and 250,000 sq ft Announced 2019; 50,000 sq ft first phase
401 Host Dr. Bella Mia Lake Geneva, Walworth Co. Not disclosed Small colocation
Network222, 222 W. Washington Ave. Building operator; tenants include US Signal Madison, Dane Co. Not disclosed Madison’s carrier hotel
MAD01 EdgeConneX Madison, Dane Co. 0.5 MW Edge site
Madison data center OneNeck IT Solutions Fitchburg, Dane Co. 6 MW Enterprise colocation and cloud
5515 Nobel Dr. TDS (TEAM Companies, VISI) Fitchburg, Dane Co. 6 MW Telecom-owned
Epic campus data center Epic Systems Verona, Dane Co. Not disclosed Enterprise; registered for the state sales tax exemption
432 Midland Rd. ddCloud Janesville, Rock Co. Not disclosed Small colocation
Harrison campus Ark Data Centers (formerly Involta) Village of Harrison, Calumet Co. 24.5 acres; up to 20 MW Former Kimberly-Clark data center, expanding
Green Bay Ark Data Centers Green Bay, Brown Co. 0.25 MW Edge site
Eau Claire data centers WIN Technology; Data Holdings Eau Claire, Eau Claire Co. 1 MW (WIN) Two operators in the Chippewa Valley
Aventus 715 Aventus Data Centers Marshfield, Wood Co. Not disclosed Central Wisconsin colocation
Port Edwards CyberOne Data Port Edwards, Wood Co. Not disclosed Former mill town site

Power, policy, and moratoriums

The rules that govern every row above were rewritten on April 24, 2026, when the Public Service Commission overhauled We Energies’ Very Large Customer tariff: a 15-year minimum term, eligibility lowered from 500 to 100 megawatts, and a requirement that data centers pay 100 percent of the generation built to serve them. Alliant’s Meta contract was approved in May with similar conditions. The PSC’s draft strategic energy assessment, reported by Urban Milwaukee, projects state peak demand rising 40 percent by 2032, from 14.2 gigawatts to more than 20, with the three big campuses supplying most of the growth.

The tax side is unchanged since 2023. Data center construction, equipment, and electricity are exempt from state and local sales tax with no sunset; the Legislative Fiscal Bureau puts the cost at about $1.5 billion during construction and $369 million a year afterward, and the exemption cost $40 million in its first full fiscal year across the three projects then registered: Microsoft in Mount Pleasant, Epic Hosting in Verona, and the Meta entity in Beaver Dam. Vantage’s Port Washington entity has since registered as well.

By midsummer, Wisconsin Watch counted more than two dozen local moratoriums, including nine counties (Clark, Dane, Dodge, Door, Grant, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Rusk, and Shawano), the cities of Madison and Superior, and towns from Cassville to New Denmark. The Legislature adjourned without passing any of the NDA, ratepayer, or disclosure bills introduced in 2025 and 2026, so the next statewide changes wait for the January 2027 session and whoever wins the governor’s race in November.

How this list is maintained

A row appears here when a named operator or an industry directory lists a facility in Wisconsin, or when a proposal has a named municipality and a published source; rumors under nondisclosure agreements do not qualify until a town or developer confirms them. Corrections and additions are welcome through the About page, and every refresh is marked with an updated date at the top of the page.

wisconsinstate-guidemicrosoftmetavantagecolocationmoratorium